Rick Cormier » Leadership

Please click on a category below:

National President

Rick Cormier

First National Executive Vice-President
Work Phone: 613-560-4306 Cell Phone: 506-872-0256
Photo of Rick Cormier

Biographical Info

Rick Cormier was elected Third National Executive Vice-President at the November 2013 National Council meeting to replace Brother Raphael Tarasco upon his retirement in January of 2014. Prior to this, Rick had served as Regional Vice-President for our members in the Western Atlantic Region since January 1, 2007.

Rick became involved in this union in 1992 as a Shop Steward of Local 60005 in Moncton, NB. The following year, he became Chief Shop Steward of that local. In 1996, he was voted in as Vice-President of the local and that year attended his first Agriculture Triennial Convention in Saskatoon.

In 1997, Rick became President of his Local and remained in this position until 2008 when he was elected as RVP Western Atlantic at the Triennial Convention in Quebec City. As RVP for Western Atlantic, he was co-chair of the Regional UMC/OSH Committee and the Area UMC/OSH Committee. He was also co-chair of the Employment Transition Committee with CFIA in 2012.

Rick is honoured to have been chosen Third National Executive Vice-President and looks forward to his new role working as a member of the Executive.

Categories: National Executive

National Executive

The Agriculture Union’s National Executive is comprised of a National President and four National Executive Vice-Presidents. These five national officers are Agriculture Union members, elected by the delegates at our union’s National Triennial Convention.

The National President and First National Executive Vice-President are both full-time officers, based at the Agriculture Union’s National Office in Ottawa.

The National Executive ensures that our union’s resources are appropriately allocated and that its activities reflect the will of the membership. It meets four times a year.

Brief biographies and contact information for our other National Executive officers can be seen below.

National Council

The National Council serves as the Agriculture Union’s governing body between triennial conventions.  Its members are directly elected by grassroots delegates at our union’s National Triennial Convention.

The National Council is made up of the National Executive and:

  • Regional Vice-Presidents, who represent defined geographical regions of the country; and
  • The National Director for Human Rights.

The National Council meets twice a year to oversee the operation of the union between conventions.

In addition to the National Executive, its current members, along with the Locals they represent, can be seen below.

Past Presidents

Our Union is fortunate to have had a tradition of dedicated, effective National Presidents.

The individuals noted below have contributed immensely to the strength and success of today’s Agriculture Union. The asterisk indicates that the individual is deceased.

Photo of Yves Ducharme Photo of Yves Ducharme Photo of Larry Leng
Bob Kingston 2008-2017

Yves Ducharme


Larry Leng 1993-1999
Photo of Fred Coates Photo of Albert Burke Photo of D.K. Yost

Fred Coates


Albert Burke


D.K. Yost *1970-1981
Photo of Andy Stewart

Andy Stewart *


Life Members

Life Membership is the highest honour the Agriculture Union can bestow on a member of our Union. The awarding of Life Memberships is decided by the National Council according to the direction provided in our by-laws:

“Life Membership may be awarded to any current and/or retired member who, through personal and devoted efforts in the affairs of this Union , has performed exemplary services for the membership.”

The uniqueness of this recognition is shown by the fact that there can only be 10 Life Memberships at any one time. Life Members who are deceased are also recognized on this page.

Below is the list of current Life Members of the Agriculture Union:

  • Albert Burke
  • Fred Coates
  • Yves Ducharme
  • Larry Leng
  • R.S. Pani Panickar
  • Claude Parent
  • Gilles Pelletier
  • Henriette Pollon
  • Charles Prest
  • Denis Sicard
  • Raphaël Tarasco

Life members who have passed away:

  • André Sénéchal
  • A.I. (Andy) Stewart
  • Howard Willems
  • J.K. Yost